Meet the President (of the Hammock Club)

#EnoTrunkTuesdays, College, Events, Hammocking, Leadership, Nature, Outdoors, Photography, UF Hammock Club, University of Florida

So with the whole rise of the Hammock Club at the University of Florida, it has been a whirlwind of excitement over the past few years seeing the wave of popularity sweep across the Gator Nation.

But where do I fit in all of this? Let me tell y’all a lil bit about myself!

General Info

Academic Year: 1st Year Pharmacy Student at the University of Florida, Gainesville Campus. (Yes, that’s Grad School)

Age: 21

Residence: Gainesville, FL

Hobbies: Trying out new instruments, Photography, Playing Piano, Playing Ultimate, Playing Trashcan, Netflix, Playing with Puppies (most definitely).

KanapHamm-4


When did you first get involved in hammocking and why do you love it?

When I first got introduced to portable hammocks at a camping trip at Paynes Prairie about 2 years ago, I was immediately hooked! By Winter Break that year, I put my order in for a hammock and in a week or so, I was the proud owner of a Grand Trunk Double Hammock!

Breaking out the new Hammock with Chris

Breaking out the new Hammock with Chris

Going back to campus with my newfound love for hammocking and as a new owner, I noticed the lack of hammocks at UF. Walking through the Plaza of the Americas (a main plaza outside one of the main libraries), I would remember seeing 1, maybe 2 hammocks strung up between trees. Now, it’s easy to find 5 or 6 hammocks spread all over the Plaza.

Students enjoying the afternoon in Hammocks in the Plaza of the Americas.

Students enjoying the afternoon in Hammocks in the Plaza of the Americas.

As I started to hammock with some close friends on campus each week, I absolutely loved seeing the attention that the hammocks brought. I loved showing others about the comfort and portability of the relaxing commodities! Overall, what was most surprising to me was the hammock community itself.

A bit of fun between classes before the Club came to be.

A bit of fun between classes before the Club came to be.

The culmination of organizing some sports and hammocks with friends.

The culmination of organizing some sports and hammocks with friends.

Just by hanging out (in the most literal sense) with my friends, I’ve had multiple opportunities to meet other wonderful people, whether they were students passing by, hikers on trails in the mountains, to slackliners or reporters from the local press!

Slacklining at the Plaza Takeover Event

Slacklining at the Plaza Takeover Event

#UFHang15

#UFHang15


What do you have to say about the recent tensions involving banning hammocks on College campuses?

With such an easy going and close-knit hammock community, it’s a shame to anyone who isn’t able to join in on the fun! In the midst of the recent backlash from various colleges about banning hammocks on campus, it is truly upsetting to see that the opportunities for communities and outdoor encouragement are being suppressed.

Friendships. Hammocks. Community.

Friendships. Hammocks. Community.

Sure, people can meet up and still go outside and hike and all, but for others, the allure of convenient relaxation might be the encouragement that many millennials of today need to get out! In this time and age of ‘fast paced’ lifestyles, we all need time to step back and relax. One of the best ways to recharge is to unplug and disconnect for a little.

I hope you all can hop on this train with me! Hammock away, my friends!

Leave a Reply

